Seven mayors sign SLO County Civility Promise

SAN LUIS OBISPO —  Every mayor in San Luis Obispo County and the Chair of the Board of Supervisors came together on Thursday, June 21, and promised each other, and the people and institutions they serve, to always strive to conduct debates — whether in person, online, or in written communication — in ways that allow for the widest range of opinions on ideas and policies, yet also respect the dignity, integrity and rights of those with whom they might disagree.
Elected leaders from of every political party and throughout SLO County worked together over the last few months to craft a Code of Civility.
The signing of the Code of Civility was hosted by San Luis Obispo County Chamber Executives, a coalition of nine Chambers of Commerce throughout the San Luis Obispo County at the SLO County Library Community Room and the event served to highlight the importance of this promise, celebrate the promised shift the tenor of discourse and to share this code with the community.
John Peschong, Chairman, 1st District Supervisor. San Luis Obispo County
Tom O’Malley, Mayor, City of Atascadero
Heidi Harmon, Mayor, City of San Luis Obispo
John Shoals, Mayor, City of Grover Beach
Steve Martin, Mayor, City of Paso Robles
Jim Hill, Mayor City of Arroyo Grande
Ed Waage, Mayor, City of Pismo Beach
Jamie Irons, Mayor, City of Morro Bay were all present at the event to sign the code.


More In News